Itty Bitty Laundry Room Door Option

We visited Del Webb’s Shadow Hills community near Palm Springs over the weekend.  The models were some of the most tastefully decorated I’ve seen; however.  I do have issues with the builder when they add to many options to the basic model.  I have a knack for reading floorplans, but I was disoriented in some as I was trying to envision the basic versus the upgrade.  My husband kept saying, “Oh, I like this.”  And I’d answer, “Yeah, that’s extra.”

Please pass the hamper.

Please pass the hamper.

My favorite floorplan was The Hospitality.  It had one of the most fun and convenient options, and I would definitely pay the extra.  I’d never seen it before, and I’ve seen a lot of houses.  It was a small door (optional, of course) from the laundry room to the master bedroom’s walk-in closet.  From the closet, you open the door and shove the hamper through.  The you walk unencumbered to the laundry room near the home entry, do the laundry, and poof – shove it back through the little magic door to the closet.  If only it came with a house-elf to do the folding and hanging up!

Optional Laundry Door

Optional Laundry Door

My husband, who hasn’t done laundry for thirty years, didn’t really see the practical benefit, but he did think it would be a great secret door for the grandkids to use for a hideout or to sneak up on grandpa.

Tags: , ,

About bestplace55

Office Consultant in Irvine, California. Excel trainer. Other blogs include AdminAssistTips.blogspot.com and sahzidog.blogspot.com.

Leave a comment